Are you a password freeloader? It’s okay, you can tell us. Netflix has already accepted that countless people share their accounts, and now that they’re cracking down on password-sharing, they’ve implemented a new tool that will make it easier for you to set up your own account.
On Monday, October 17, Netflix launched profile transfers worldwide. Subscribers will receive an email when the tool becomes available on their account. People moving households, ending relationships, or using someone else’s paid account can now transfer their personalized recommendations, watch history, and watchlist to a separate paid account.
While the most significant motivating factor for implementing profile transfers is so Netflix can make more money by coaxing people into paying for their own accounts rather than stealing from someone else, it is a genuinely good idea for those who want their own account for whatever reason, but don’t want to lose their watch history.
How do you transfer your Netflix profile to a new account?
Netflix has made it really simple to transfer your Netflix profile. The company shared a helpful animation that walks you through how to do it, which Variety shared in the article linked above. But all you need to do is hover over your profile icon in the top right corner (you’ll need to do this on a computer) until you see the dropdown menu.
Then you’ll see an option to transfer your profile (once it becomes active on your account). You can also turn off the option for profile transfers under account settings if you need to.
What do you think about Netflix’s new profile transfer method? Stay tuned to Netflix Life for additional news and updates on all things Netflix.